Environmental News: Media Center

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Press contact: Bob Keefe in Rio: bkeefe@nrdc.org, 202-650-4625; Elizabeth Heyd in Washington: eheyd@nrdc.org, 202-289-2424; Kate Slusark in New York: kslusark@nrdc.org, 212-727-4592
If you are not a member of the press, please write to us at nrdcinfo@nrdc.org or see our contact page
NRDC: At Rio+20, Oceans Protections a Positive Step; More Action Needed

RIO DE JANEIRO (June 19, 2012) – After delegates to the Rio+20 Earth Summit finalized the United Nations text regarding protection of our oceans, Natural Resources Defense Council International Program Director Lisa Speer made the following statement:

“The positive steps contained in the text on plastic pollution, ocean acidification, fishing subsidies and overfishing - if vigorously implemented - will help reverse the decline of our oceans.

“We are exceedingly disappointed that no decision was reached to negotiate a new agreement for the conservation and management of biodiversity beyond national jurisdictions. But the acknowledged urgency for moving forward on this critical biodiversity issue is at least a step forward.”

OTHER RESOURCES: 

On OCEAN ACIDIFICATION, please see:

* NRDC’s Web site on acidification here:  http://www.nrdc.org/oceans/acidification/

* Our press release on acidification here: http://www.nrdc.org/media/2012/120617.asp?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+NRDCPressReleases+(NRDC+Press+Releases)

* NRDC oceans program director Sarah Chasis’s blog here: http://switchboard.nrdc.org/blogs/schasis/rapidly_changing_seas_ocean_ac.html

On PLASTIC POLLUTION IN OUR OCEANS, please see:
* NRDC’s Web site dedicated to plastic pollution here: http://www.nrdc.org/oceans/plastic-ocean/

* Details on our campaign to end plastics in our oceans here: http://stopplasticpollution.org/

* NRDC oceans advocate Leila Monroe’s blog on plastics and oceans here: http://switchboard.nrdc.org/blogs/lmonroe/at_rios_giant_trash_dump_prote.html

On HIGH SEAS MARINE SANCTUARIES , please see:

* NRDC international oceans program director Lisa Speer’s blog here: http://switchboard.nrdc.org/blogs/lspeer/

For an overview of all of NRDC’s oceans-related priorities at Rio+20, please see http://www.nrdc.org/international/rio-2012/oceans.asp

NRDC has several oceans experts at Rio+20 who can explain and discuss these and other oceans-related issues in detail.

To arrange interviews or for more information, please contact me at bkeefe@nrdc.org or 202.650.4625 or (+55) 2135455400 ext.1256. Email works best.  You can also contact Kate Slusark in New York at kslusark@nrdc.org or 212.727.4592.


The Natural Resources Defense Council (NRDC) is an international nonprofit environmental organization with more than 1.4 million members and online activists. Since 1970, our lawyers, scientists, and other environmental specialists have worked to protect the world's natural resources, public health, and the environment. NRDC has offices in New York City, Washington, D.C., Los Angeles, San Francisco, Chicago, Bozeman, MT, and Beijing. Visit us at www.nrdc.org and follow us on Twitter @NRDC.


Sign up for NRDC's online newsletter

See the latest issue >



NRDC Gets Top Ratings from the Charity Watchdogs

Charity Navigator awards NRDC its 4-star top rating.
Worth magazine named NRDC one of America's 100 best charities.
NRDC meets the highest standards of the Wise Giving Alliance of the Better Business Bureau.


Donate now >

Share | |