Media Center

Featured Press Releases


Media Contacts

To arrange for interviews with or comments from any of our lawyers, scientists, or analysts, please contact one of our press officers. If you are not a member of the press, please write to us at nrdcinfo@nrdc.org, or see our contact us page.

Kari Birdseye

kbirdseye@nrdc.org
415-875-8243
California advocacy and California climate change policy, natural climate solutions

Jesús Canchola Sánchez

jcanchola@nrdc.org
312-847-6808
Midwestern regional issues

Emily Deanne

edeanne@nrdc.org
202-717-8288
Energy efficiency and decarbonization, buildings, food and agriculture

Mark Drajem

mdrajem@nrdc.org
202-289-2436
Power sector, transportation and vehicles, renewable energy, nuclear power

Janet Fang

jfang@nrdc-china.org
+86 10 5927 0688
China-based climate, energy and wildlife

Anne Hawke

ahawke@nrdc.org
202-329-1463
International issues, green finance, climate adaptation, LNG, air policy

Margie Kelly

mkelly@nrdc.org
541-222-9699
Water, Canada, toxics

Ivan Moreno

imoreno@nrdc.org
312-651-7932
Environmental justice and Chicago-based environmental issues

Ben Schaefer

bschaefer@NRDC.org 
708-446-1605 
Industrial and emerging energy policy, hydrogen, energy transmission/RTOs, renewables and siting

Andrew Scibetta

ascibetta@NRDC.org
202-289-2421
Lands, oceans, wildlife

Jake Thompson

jthompson@nrdc.org
202-289-2387
Western regional issues

Rita Yelda

ryelda@nrdc.org
212-727-4427
Eastern regional issues

All Press Releases

Viewing 1 - 20 of 110

Biden Administration Strengthens Health Standard for Soot Pollution

Press ReleaseWashington, D.C.
WASHINGTON – The Environmental Protection Agency finalized a rule today to tighten one national limit for soot pollution in the United States. It set the annual health standard for soot, otherwise known as fine particulate matter air pollution, or PM2.5…

Most Public Comments submitted on Safe Drinking Water Rule in History

Press ReleaseWashington, D.C.
WASHINGTON – Yesterday, as the public comment period closed for the Environmental Protection Agency’s (EPA) proposed Lead and Copper Rule Improvements (LCRI) to address the lead-contaminated drinking water crisis, it is clear that the overwhelming majority of comments support the…

NRDC to Congress: The Pause on New LNG Export Permits is Commonsense Move

Press ReleaseWashington, D.C.
WASHINGTON – The Biden administration’s recent pause on Department of Energy approvals of new LNG export permits is a sensible update, NRDC will testify before the House Energy and Commerce Committee Subcommittee on Energy, Climate and Grid Security, in a hearing convening today. The…

Supreme Court Rejects Lawsuit to Reverse EPA Protections for Bristol Bay

Press ReleaseWashington, D.C.
The United States Supreme Court today rejected the State of Alaska’s unusual lawsuit seeking to challenge, directly in that court, the Environmental Protection Agency’s (EPA) Clean Water Act veto of the Pebble Mine. The decision means any challenge to EPA’s…

EPA Prioritizes Evaluation of the Plastic Compound Vinyl Chloride

Press ReleaseWashington, D.C.
WASHINGTON — The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) announced today it will prioritize the chemicals Vinyl Chloride, Acetaldehyde Acrylonitrile, Benzenamine, and 4,4’-Methylene bis for evaluation and potential regulation under the Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA). 

DOT is Putting Transportation on the Right Track 

Press ReleaseWashington, D.C.
WASHINGTON – The Department of Transportation released a key rule last week that will require states to measure greenhouse gas pollution from highway systems and set targets to lower those emissions.

NOAA Denies Key Protections in Fight to Protect Rice’s Whale

Press ReleaseWashington, D.C.
On Friday, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Fisheries denied a petition to establish a 10-knot vessel speed limit and other protective measures in the Gulf of Mexico to protect the endangered Rice’s whale, which is estimated to have a…

EPA Cuts HFC Use in Air Conditioning, Supermarket Refrigerators

Press ReleaseWashington, D.C.
WASHINGTON – In a move supported by both environmental groups and industry associations, the Environmental Protection Agency finalized standards that will phase out the most climate-warming hydrofluorocarbons (HFCs) in key applications -- from aerosols to heat pumps; supermarket refrigerators to…