Media Center

Featured Press Releases


Media Contacts

To arrange for interviews with or comments from any of our lawyers, scientists, or analysts, please contact one of our press officers. If you are not a member of the press, please write to us at nrdcinfo@nrdc.org, or see our contact us page.

Mark Drajem

mdrajem@nrdc.org
202-289-2436
Adaptation, infrastructure, transportation and vehicles, renewable energy, nuclear power

Anne Hawke

ahawke@nrdc.org
202-329-1463
Offshore drilling, fossil fuels, federal lands, forest and monuments, clean air policy

Jesús Canchola Sánchez

jcanchola@nrdc.org
312-847-6808
Midwestern regional issues

Rita Yelda

ryelda@nrdc.org
212-727-4427
Eastern regional issues

Margie Kelly

mkelly@nrdc.org
541-222-9699
Water, Canada

Kari Birdseye

kbirdseye@nrdc.org
415-875-8243
Oceans, marine mammals, California advocacy and California climate change policy, natural climate solutions

Emily Deanne

edeanne@nrdc.org
202-717-8288
Energy efficiency and decarbonization

Jake Thompson

jthompson@nrdc.org
202-289-2387
Western regional issues

Ivan Moreno

imoreno@nrdc.org
312-651-7932
Environmental justice and Chicago-based environmental issues

Janet Fang

jfang@nrdc-china.org
+86 10 5927 0688
China-based climate, energy and wildlife

Ben Schaefer

bschaefer@NRDC.org 
708-446-1605 
Industrial and emerging energy policy, hydrogen, energy transmission/RTOs

All Press Releases

Viewing 1 - 20 of 666

Regulators Move to Reject Proposed LNG Storage Facility in Albuquerque

Press ReleaseNew Mexico
A top hearing examiner today recommended that the New Mexico Public Regulation Commission reject a proposal to build a liquefied natural gas storage facility in northwest Albuquerque on grounds that it is not needed, provides no public benefit, and has…

NRDC to Congress: The Pause on New LNG Export Permits is Commonsense Move

Press ReleaseWashington, D.C.
WASHINGTON – The Biden administration’s recent pause on Department of Energy approvals of new LNG export permits is a sensible update, NRDC will testify before the House Energy and Commerce Committee Subcommittee on Energy, Climate and Grid Security, in a hearing convening today. The…

NRDC: Hochul Commits to Removing Barriers to Climate Act Goals

Press ReleaseNew York
In her 2024 State of the State, Governor Hochul committed to key elements of the NY HEAT Act by supporting the removal of existing statutory conflicts with New York’s 2019 Climate Leadership and Community Protection Act.

Supreme Court Rejects Lawsuit to Reverse EPA Protections for Bristol Bay

Press ReleaseWashington, D.C.
The United States Supreme Court today rejected the State of Alaska’s unusual lawsuit seeking to challenge, directly in that court, the Environmental Protection Agency’s (EPA) Clean Water Act veto of the Pebble Mine. The decision means any challenge to EPA’s…

Biden Administration Announces Action to Protect Old Growth Forests

Press ReleaseWashington, D.C.
WASHINGTON — The Department of Agriculture unveiled a proposed nationwide forest plan amendment focused on protecting federal old-growth forests. The proposal would amend all land management plans governing the National Forest System with new directions for the management of old growth…

NOAA Denies Key Protections in Fight to Protect Rice’s Whale

Press ReleaseWashington, D.C.
On Friday, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Fisheries denied a petition to establish a 10-knot vessel speed limit and other protective measures in the Gulf of Mexico to protect the endangered Rice’s whale, which is estimated to have a…

House Lawmakers Unveil Bill to Restore Key Clean Water Act Protections

Press ReleaseWashington, D.C.
WASHINGTON – More than 100 members of the House of Representatives announced a bill today to restore federal protections for rivers, wetlands, streams and other essential water bodies. The Clean Water Act of 2023 would reinstate safeguards the Supreme Court dismantled…

NRDC Digital Tool Tracks Political Opposition to Offshore Drilling

Press ReleaseWashington, D.C.
WASHINGTON – NRDC (Natural Resources Defense Council) is launching an updated digital tool today to help people track where their Members of Congress stand on offshore oil and gas drilling. The Biden administration is expected to release a final five-year plan for federal…