Media Center

Featured Press Releases


Media Contacts

To arrange for interviews with or comments from any of our lawyers, scientists, or analysts, please contact one of our press officers. If you are not a member of the press, please write to us at nrdcinfo@nrdc.org, or see our contact us page.

Mark Drajem

mdrajem@nrdc.org
202-289-2436
Adaptation, infrastructure, transportation and vehicles, renewable energy, nuclear power

Anne Hawke

ahawke@nrdc.org
202-329-1463
Offshore drilling, fossil fuels, federal lands, forest and monuments, clean air policy

Jesús Canchola Sánchez

jcanchola@nrdc.org
312-847-6808
Midwestern regional issues

Rita Yelda

ryelda@nrdc.org
212-727-4427
Eastern regional issues

Margie Kelly

mkelly@nrdc.org
541-222-9699
Water, Canada

Kari Birdseye

kbirdseye@nrdc.org
415-875-8243
Oceans, marine mammals, California advocacy and California climate change policy, natural climate solutions

Emily Deanne

edeanne@nrdc.org
202-717-8288
Energy efficiency and decarbonization

Jake Thompson

jthompson@nrdc.org
202-289-2387
Western regional issues

Ivan Moreno

imoreno@nrdc.org
312-651-7932
Environmental justice and Chicago-based environmental issues

Janet Fang

jfang@nrdc-china.org
+86 10 5927 0688
China-based climate, energy and wildlife

Ben Schaefer

bschaefer@NRDC.org 
708-446-1605 
Industrial and emerging energy policy, hydrogen, energy transmission/RTOs

All Press Releases

Viewing 1 - 20 of 41

NRDC: Hochul Commits to Removing Barriers to Climate Act Goals

Press ReleaseNew York
In her 2024 State of the State, Governor Hochul committed to key elements of the NY HEAT Act by supporting the removal of existing statutory conflicts with New York’s 2019 Climate Leadership and Community Protection Act.

Judge Approves Multi-Million Dollar Clean-Up for Penobscot River

Press ReleaseMaine
BANGOR, ME — Today, a Federal District Court in Maine approved a settlement that requires Mallinckrodt US LLC to pay for mercury remediation in the Penobscot River Estuary, concluding a more than two decade long legal fight led by Maine…

COP26: U.S. & China Pledge Climate Action this Decisive Decade

Press ReleaseChina, United States
GLASGOW, SCOTLAND – The United States and China announced plans today at global climate talks in Glasgow to work together this decade on controlling climate pollution, reducing deforestation and advancing clean energy to address the climate crisis.

COP15: China Announces Steps to Help Address the Biodiversity and Climate Crises

Press ReleaseChina
WASHINGTON – During global biodiversity talks at COP15 in Kunming, China, on Monday, Chinese President Xi Jinping announced a new international fund to support biodiversity protection in developing countries, and stronger protections within China’s national park system, which provides habitat…

Groups File Proposed Settlement in Penobscot River Mercury Clean-Up Case

Press ReleaseMaine
BANGOR, Maine – The Maine People’s Alliance (MPA), NRDC (Natural Resources Defense Council) and Mallinckrodt US LLC today filed a proposed consent decree to settle more than two decades of litigation over mercury contamination in the Penobscot River estuary. If…

Groups Sue Trump Administration for Rollback of Bird Protections

Press ReleaseNew York
NEW YORK – To reinstate bedrock protections for more than 1,000 species of waterfowl, raptors and songbirds, NRDC and partners filed a lawsuit today in the Southern District of New York challenging the Trump administration’s radical reinterpretation of the Migratory…

Gov. Cuomo Blocks Williams Pipeline for Third Time

Press ReleaseNew York
ALBANY, N.Y. – Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) today blocked the Williams Pipeline from moving forward. This decision comes after nearly three years of unrelenting grassroots advocacy in opposition to the fossil…