Media Center


Media Contacts

To arrange for interviews with or comments from any of our lawyers, scientists, or analysts, please contact one of our press officers. If you are not a member of the press, please write to us at nrdcinfo@nrdc.org, or see our contact us page.

Kari Birdseye

kbirdseye@nrdc.org
415-875-8243
California advocacy and California climate change policy, natural climate solutions

Jesús Canchola Sánchez

jcanchola@nrdc.org
312-847-6808
Midwestern regional issues

Emily Deanne

edeanne@nrdc.org
202-717-8288
Energy efficiency and decarbonization, buildings, food and agriculture

Mark Drajem

mdrajem@nrdc.org
202-289-2436
Power sector, transportation and vehicles, renewable energy, nuclear power

Janet Fang

jfang@nrdc-china.org
+86 10 5927 0688
China-based climate, energy and wildlife

Anne Hawke

ahawke@nrdc.org
202-329-1463
International issues, green finance, climate adaptation, LNG, air policy

Margie Kelly

mkelly@nrdc.org
541-222-9699
Water, Canada, toxics

Ivan Moreno

imoreno@nrdc.org
312-651-7932
Environmental justice and Chicago-based environmental issues

Ben Schaefer

bschaefer@NRDC.org 
708-446-1605 
Industrial and emerging energy policy, hydrogen, energy transmission/RTOs, renewables and siting

Andrew Scibetta

ascibetta@NRDC.org
202-289-2421
Lands, oceans, wildlife

Jake Thompson

jthompson@nrdc.org
202-289-2387
Western regional issues

Rita Yelda

ryelda@nrdc.org
212-727-4427
Eastern regional issues

Viewing 1 - 20 of 468

A Permitting Plan That Can Get the Job Done

Press ReleaseWashington, D.C.
WASHINGTON – Key House lawmakers unveiled landmark legislation today that would spur the investments in electricity transmission needed for the clean energy transition while ensuring equitable and efficient permitting.

Court Rejects Anti-Renewables Challenge to PJM Rule

Press ReleaseUnited States
In a decision released today, the United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit upheld a ruling from the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) that allows renewables to compete fairly with fossil fuel power plants in PJM.

Minnesota Declares Sept. 14 “Clean Grid Day”

Press ReleaseMinneapolis
MINNEAPOLIS (September 14, 2023) – Today, as members of Minnesota’s grid operator Midcontinent Independent System Operator (MISO) meet in Minneapolis to discuss the future of the Midwestern grid, Gov. Tim Walz declared September 14 “Clean Grid Day.” At the beginning…

Governor Newsom and CA Legislature Agree on Path to Clean, Reliable Energy

Press ReleaseSacramento
Governor Gavin Newsom and the California state legislature have announced an agreement to protect the reliability of California's energy grid amid the state's transition to clean energy. The bill centers the procurement of clean electricity, expedition of electric infrastructure projects, strengthening…

FERC Interconnection Efforts "Raise the Floor" on Grid Decarbonization Pathways

Press Release
WASHINGTON, D.C. — Today the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) held a meeting on a forthcoming rule to improve interregional transmission. During their presentation, commissioners previewed efforts to standardize processes across different grid operators, increase accountability for action, and usher…

Groups Welcome New Denver Mayor

Press ReleaseDenver
Environmental, racial justice and health organizations today welcomed the upcoming inauguration of Denver Mayor Mike Johnston and urge him to work with City Council and regional experts to build on the city’s environmental successes with bold action addressing climate change…

Inflation Reduction Act to Drive Historic Clean Energy Transition

Press ReleaseWashington, D.C.
WASHINGTON – A new compilation of government, academic, industry and other analyses provides the strongest evidence yet that the Inflation Reduction Act is poised to drive a historic transformation of the U.S. economy toward cleaner, renewable energy.

PJM Rejects Member Plan to Rewrite Penalties

Press Release
Earthjustice, NRDC, Penn Future, Public Citizen, Sierra Club, the Sustainable FERC Project, and the Union of Concerned Scientists sent a letter to the PJM board calling on them to reject the May 11 PJM-member proposal to rollback penalties for failed…