Media Center

Featured Press Releases


Media Contacts

To arrange for interviews with or comments from any of our lawyers, scientists, or analysts, please contact one of our press officers. If you are not a member of the press, please write to us at nrdcinfo@nrdc.org, or see our contact us page.

Kari Birdseye

kbirdseye@nrdc.org
415-875-8243
California advocacy and California climate change policy, natural climate solutions

Jesús Canchola Sánchez

jcanchola@nrdc.org
312-847-6808
Midwestern regional issues

Emily Deanne

edeanne@nrdc.org
202-717-8288
Energy efficiency and decarbonization, buildings, food and agriculture

Mark Drajem

mdrajem@nrdc.org
202-289-2436
Power sector, transportation and vehicles, renewable energy, nuclear power

Janet Fang

jfang@nrdc-china.org
+86 10 5927 0688
China-based climate, energy and wildlife

Anne Hawke

ahawke@nrdc.org
202-329-1463
International issues, green finance, climate adaptation, LNG, air policy

Margie Kelly

mkelly@nrdc.org
541-222-9699
Water, Canada, toxics

Ivan Moreno

imoreno@nrdc.org
312-651-7932
Environmental justice and Chicago-based environmental issues

Ben Schaefer

bschaefer@NRDC.org 
708-446-1605 
Industrial and emerging energy policy, hydrogen, energy transmission/RTOs, renewables and siting

Andrew Scibetta

ascibetta@NRDC.org
202-289-2421
Lands, oceans, wildlife

Jake Thompson

jthompson@nrdc.org
202-289-2387
Western regional issues

Rita Yelda

ryelda@nrdc.org
212-727-4427
Eastern regional issues

All Press Releases

Viewing 1 - 20 of 960

EPA’s New Approach on Power Plant Pollution

Press ReleaseUnited States
WASHINGTON – The Environmental Protection Agency said today that it will be taking a new approach to tackling pollution from existing gas power plants, while holding firm on its timeline to finalize standards for carbon pollution from existing coal and…

EPA’s Carbon Standards Are a Powerful Tool

Press ReleaseUnited States
The EPA’s standards to curb carbon emissions from power plants are crucial to addressing climate change. Strong and comprehensive rules are needed to address this major source of carbon pollution.

Biden Administration Strengthens Health Standard for Soot Pollution

Press ReleaseWashington, D.C.
WASHINGTON – The Environmental Protection Agency finalized a rule today to tighten one national limit for soot pollution in the United States. It set the annual health standard for soot, otherwise known as fine particulate matter air pollution, or PM2.5…

Most Public Comments submitted on Safe Drinking Water Rule in History

Press ReleaseWashington, D.C.
WASHINGTON – Yesterday, as the public comment period closed for the Environmental Protection Agency’s (EPA) proposed Lead and Copper Rule Improvements (LCRI) to address the lead-contaminated drinking water crisis, it is clear that the overwhelming majority of comments support the…

Supreme Court Rejects Lawsuit to Reverse EPA Protections for Bristol Bay

Press ReleaseWashington, D.C.
The United States Supreme Court today rejected the State of Alaska’s unusual lawsuit seeking to challenge, directly in that court, the Environmental Protection Agency’s (EPA) Clean Water Act veto of the Pebble Mine. The decision means any challenge to EPA’s…

EPA Prioritizes Evaluation of the Plastic Compound Vinyl Chloride

Press ReleaseWashington, D.C.
WASHINGTON — The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) announced today it will prioritize the chemicals Vinyl Chloride, Acetaldehyde Acrylonitrile, Benzenamine, and 4,4’-Methylene bis for evaluation and potential regulation under the Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA). 

A Permitting Plan That Can Get the Job Done

Press ReleaseWashington, D.C.
WASHINGTON – Key House lawmakers unveiled landmark legislation today that would spur the investments in electricity transmission needed for the clean energy transition while ensuring equitable and efficient permitting.

US Announces Over $1 Billion for Global Methane Reduction

Press ReleaseInternational
U.S. Special Presidential Envoy for Climate John Kerry announced today that the United States, the European Union, and other entities have mobilized over $1 billion in new grant funding for methane action. The grants are focused on lower income countries…

Court Rejects Anti-Renewables Challenge to PJM Rule

Press ReleaseUnited States
In a decision released today, the United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit upheld a ruling from the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) that allows renewables to compete fairly with fossil fuel power plants in PJM.