Media Center


Media Contacts

To arrange for interviews with or comments from any of our lawyers, scientists, or analysts, please contact one of our press officers. If you are not a member of the press, please write to us at nrdcinfo@nrdc.org, or see our contact us page.

Kari Birdseye

kbirdseye@nrdc.org
415-875-8243
California advocacy and California climate change policy, natural climate solutions

Jesús Canchola Sánchez

jcanchola@nrdc.org
312-847-6808
Midwestern regional issues

Emily Deanne

edeanne@nrdc.org
202-717-8288
Energy efficiency and decarbonization, buildings, food and agriculture

Mark Drajem

mdrajem@nrdc.org
202-289-2436
Power sector, transportation and vehicles, renewable energy, nuclear power

Janet Fang

jfang@nrdc-china.org
+86 10 5927 0688
China-based climate, energy and wildlife

Anne Hawke

ahawke@nrdc.org
202-329-1463
International issues, green finance, climate adaptation, LNG, air policy

Margie Kelly

mkelly@nrdc.org
541-222-9699
Water, Canada, toxics

Ivan Moreno

imoreno@nrdc.org
312-651-7932
Environmental justice and Chicago-based environmental issues

Ben Schaefer

bschaefer@NRDC.org 
708-446-1605 
Industrial and emerging energy policy, hydrogen, energy transmission/RTOs, renewables and siting

Andrew Scibetta

ascibetta@NRDC.org
202-289-2421
Lands, oceans, wildlife

Jake Thompson

jthompson@nrdc.org
202-289-2387
Western regional issues

Rita Yelda

ryelda@nrdc.org
212-727-4427
Eastern regional issues

Viewing 1 - 20 of 620

Senate Restores FERC to a Full Five Commissioners

Press ReleaseWashington, D.C.
WASHINGTON – Today the Senate confirmed three new commissioners to the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC:) Judy Chang, David Rosner, and Lindsay See.

PJM Interconnection Action: Steps Forward, Miles to Go

Press ReleaseUnited States
This week PJM, the grid operator for 13 states, announced the advancement of more than 300 interconnection projects under phase 1 of its new interconnection process, created in 2022.

EPA Issues Awards for “Solar for All” Program

Press ReleaseWashington, D.C.
WASHINGTON – The Biden Administration today announced award winners for a grant competition it held last year for Solar for All, a $7 billion program within the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to deploy residential and community solar, integrated storage and cover related…

Supreme Court Rejects Lawsuit to Reverse EPA Protections for Bristol Bay

Press ReleaseWashington, D.C.
The United States Supreme Court today rejected the State of Alaska’s unusual lawsuit seeking to challenge, directly in that court, the Environmental Protection Agency’s (EPA) Clean Water Act veto of the Pebble Mine. The decision means any challenge to EPA’s…

A Permitting Plan That Can Get the Job Done

Press ReleaseWashington, D.C.
WASHINGTON – Key House lawmakers unveiled landmark legislation today that would spur the investments in electricity transmission needed for the clean energy transition while ensuring equitable and efficient permitting.

Court Rejects Anti-Renewables Challenge to PJM Rule

Press ReleaseUnited States
In a decision released today, the United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit upheld a ruling from the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) that allows renewables to compete fairly with fossil fuel power plants in PJM.

Report: U.S. Must Ban Seafood From 11 Nations Over Whale, Dolphin Deaths 

Press ReleaseWashington, D.C.
A report issued today by conservation groups finds that 11 nations have at least some fisheries that fail to meet U.S. standards for preventing whale and dolphin bycatch. Entanglement in fishing gear kills hundreds of thousands of marine mammals around…

NOAA Denies Key Protections in Fight to Protect Rice’s Whale

Press ReleaseWashington, D.C.
On Friday, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Fisheries denied a petition to establish a 10-knot vessel speed limit and other protective measures in the Gulf of Mexico to protect the endangered Rice’s whale, which is estimated to have a…

NRDC Digital Tool Tracks Political Opposition to Offshore Drilling

Press ReleaseWashington, D.C.
WASHINGTON – NRDC (Natural Resources Defense Council) is launching an updated digital tool today to help people track where their Members of Congress stand on offshore oil and gas drilling. The Biden administration is expected to release a final five-year plan for federal…

Minnesota Declares Sept. 14 “Clean Grid Day”

Press ReleaseMinneapolis
MINNEAPOLIS (September 14, 2023) – Today, as members of Minnesota’s grid operator Midcontinent Independent System Operator (MISO) meet in Minneapolis to discuss the future of the Midwestern grid, Gov. Tim Walz declared September 14 “Clean Grid Day.” At the beginning…