Media Center

Featured Press Releases


Media Contacts

To arrange for interviews with or comments from any of our lawyers, scientists, or analysts, please contact one of our press officers. If you are not a member of the press, please write to us at nrdcinfo@nrdc.org, or see our contact us page.

Mark Drajem

mdrajem@nrdc.org
202-289-2436
Adaptation, infrastructure, transportation and vehicles, renewable energy, nuclear power

Anne Hawke

ahawke@nrdc.org
202-329-1463
Offshore drilling, fossil fuels, federal lands, forest and monuments, clean air policy

Jesús Canchola Sánchez

jcanchola@nrdc.org
312-847-6808
Midwestern regional issues

Rita Yelda

ryelda@nrdc.org
212-727-4427
Eastern regional issues

Margie Kelly

mkelly@nrdc.org
541-222-9699
Water, Canada

Kari Birdseye

kbirdseye@nrdc.org
415-875-8243
Oceans, marine mammals, California advocacy and California climate change policy, natural climate solutions

Emily Deanne

edeanne@nrdc.org
202-717-8288
Energy efficiency and decarbonization

Jake Thompson

jthompson@nrdc.org
202-289-2387
Western regional issues

Ivan Moreno

imoreno@nrdc.org
312-651-7932
Environmental justice and Chicago-based environmental issues

Janet Fang

jfang@nrdc-china.org
+86 10 5927 0688
China-based climate, energy and wildlife

Ben Schaefer

bschaefer@NRDC.org 
708-446-1605 
Industrial and emerging energy policy, hydrogen, energy transmission/RTOs

All Press Releases

Viewing 1 - 20 of 53

Governor Newsom and CA Legislature Agree on Path to Clean, Reliable Energy

Press ReleaseSacramento
Governor Gavin Newsom and the California state legislature have announced an agreement to protect the reliability of California's energy grid amid the state's transition to clean energy. The bill centers the procurement of clean electricity, expedition of electric infrastructure projects, strengthening…

Approval of Scoping Plan Paves Way to Bold Climate Action

Press ReleaseNew York
ALBANY, NY – Today New York’s Climate Action Council voted on a final iteration of the Scoping Plan containing its recommendations for implementing the state’s landmark 2019 Climate Leadership and Community Protection Act. The Act tasked the Council with developing…

California PUC Finalizes Solar Net Metering Decision

Press ReleaseCalifornia
SAN FRANCISCO – The California Public Utilities Commission issued its final decision for Net Billing Tariff today, which establishes the state’s approach to solar rooftop and storage incentives and rates for the next five years.

NYC Climate Week Panel Focused on Climate-Friendly Buildings

Press ReleaseNew York City
NEW YORK, NY – During NYC Climate Week, dozens of New Yorkers attended “Efficiency + Electrification + Affordability: The Recipe for Equitable, Climate-friendly Buildings”. The event included an expert panel that discussed how New York State can lead the way…

NRDC Statement on Passage of CA Diablo Canyon Extension Bill

Press ReleaseCalifornia
SACRAMENTO – The California Legislature sent Senate Bill 846, the Diablo Canyon powerplant: extension of operations bill (Sen Bill Dodd D-3,) to the governor’s desk. NRDC, along with Friends of the Earth and Environment California were lead signatories of the 2016…

Community Solar Bill Clears First Legislative Hurdle

Press ReleaseCalifornia
SACRAMENTO – A bill to increase access to renewable energy for more Californians, such as through community solar with storage, passed through the Assembly Utilities and Energy committee today. If passed, the bill will provide clean energy access and bill…

Public Service Commission Approves Two Milestone Climate Initiatives

Press ReleaseNew York
ALBANY, NY -- Today the New York Public Service Commission approved a program called Tier 4, which will facilitate the delivery of approximately 3,000 megawatts of clean energy to the nearly 9 million people living in the NYC-metro area. Upon…

Delivering Zero Emissions Communities Program Announces Winning Cities

Press ReleaseChicago, San Diego, San Jose (California)
SAN FRANCISCO — Chicago, San Diego, and San José have won spots in the newly-launched Delivering Zero Emissions Communities program. Through this one-year accelerator program, the cities will join with community partners to take bold, concrete, and immediate action toward…