Media Center

Featured Press Releases


Media Contacts

To arrange for interviews with or comments from any of our lawyers, scientists, or analysts, please contact one of our press officers. If you are not a member of the press, please write to us at nrdcinfo@nrdc.org, or see our contact us page.

Kari Birdseye

kbirdseye@nrdc.org
415-875-8243
California advocacy and California climate change policy, natural climate solutions

Jesús Canchola Sánchez

jcanchola@nrdc.org
312-847-6808
Midwestern regional issues

Emily Deanne

edeanne@nrdc.org
202-717-8288
Energy efficiency and decarbonization, buildings, food and agriculture

Mark Drajem

mdrajem@nrdc.org
202-289-2436
Power sector, transportation and vehicles, renewable energy, nuclear power

Janet Fang

jfang@nrdc-china.org
+86 10 5927 0688
China-based climate, energy and wildlife

Anne Hawke

ahawke@nrdc.org
202-329-1463
International issues, green finance, climate adaptation, LNG, air policy

Margie Kelly

mkelly@nrdc.org
541-222-9699
Water, Canada, toxics

Ivan Moreno

imoreno@nrdc.org
312-651-7932
Environmental justice and Chicago-based environmental issues

Ben Schaefer

bschaefer@NRDC.org 
708-446-1605 
Industrial and emerging energy policy, hydrogen, energy transmission/RTOs, renewables and siting

Andrew Scibetta

ascibetta@NRDC.org
202-289-2421
Lands, oceans, wildlife

Jake Thompson

jthompson@nrdc.org
202-289-2387
Western regional issues

Rita Yelda

ryelda@nrdc.org
212-727-4427
Eastern regional issues

All Press Releases

Viewing 1 - 20 of 40

DOT is Putting Transportation on the Right Track 

Press ReleaseWashington, D.C.
WASHINGTON – The Department of Transportation released a key rule last week that will require states to measure greenhouse gas pollution from highway systems and set targets to lower those emissions.

NRDC Scorecard Ranks State Transportation Policies

Press ReleaseWashington, D.C.
WASHINGTON – With record amounts of federal funding for transportation projects underway, a new NRDC scorecard released today ranks the states on their transportation policies and spending priorities. 

House Lawmakers Unveil Bill to Restore Key Clean Water Act Protections

Press ReleaseWashington, D.C.
WASHINGTON – More than 100 members of the House of Representatives announced a bill today to restore federal protections for rivers, wetlands, streams and other essential water bodies. The Clean Water Act of 2023 would reinstate safeguards the Supreme Court dismantled…

EPA Ensures States, Tribes Can Protect Their Waterways from Harm

Press ReleaseWashington, D.C.
WASHINGTON – The Environmental Protection Agency finalized a rule today that restores the ability of states and authorized Tribes to weigh in on federally permitted projects that could pollute or harm their waters, and to limit their adverse impacts. EPA…

House Majority Fiddles While Climate Crisis Burns

Press ReleaseWashington, D.C.
WASHINGTON – After months of climate-fueled disasters around the nation and facing a deadline in just a few weeks to pass a budget, the House Majority instead wasted time today voting on a measure to try and prevent states from…

Biden Administration to Cancel Arctic Refuge Oil and Gas Leases

Press ReleaseWashington, D.C.
WASHINGTON – The Biden administration canceled Trump-era leases for oil and gas drilling in the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge, eliminating an imminent threat to drill within the refuge’s 1.6-million-acre Coastal Plain.

U.S. Department of Transportation Suspends LNG by Rail Rule

Press ReleaseNew Jersey, Pennsylvania
According to the Federal Register, the U.S. Department of Transportation has suspended a rule promulgated by the Trump Administration that permits liquefied natural gas (LNG) transport by rail.

NRDC Report: Building Batteries Better

Press ReleaseWashington, D.C.
WASHINGTON – A new report from NRDC (Natural Resources Defense Council) lays out key strategies so the transition away from fossil fuels and to electric vehicles can drive better mining practices.

NRDC Launches Ads to Support Climate Standards

Press ReleaseWashington, D.C., Pennsylvania, Virginia, North Carolina, Michigan
These proposed EPA standards target the two largest sources of carbon emissions—and build on the historic investments passed by Congress last year that will support clean energy and cleaner vehicles.

Biden Should Veto Clean Water Act CRA

Press ReleaseWashington, D.C.
WASHINGTON — Today, 53 Senators attacked the Clean Water Act by passing a Congressional Review Act (CRA) resolution. The measure would overturn the Biden Administration’s Clean Water Restoration rule and prevent any future administration from issuing similar protections.