Media Center

Featured Press Releases


Media Contacts

To arrange for interviews with or comments from any of our lawyers, scientists, or analysts, please contact one of our press officers. If you are not a member of the press, please write to us at nrdcinfo@nrdc.org, or see our contact us page.

Mark Drajem

mdrajem@nrdc.org
202-289-2436
Adaptation, infrastructure, transportation and vehicles, renewable energy, nuclear power

Anne Hawke

ahawke@nrdc.org
202-329-1463
Offshore drilling, fossil fuels, federal lands, forest and monuments, clean air policy

Jesús Canchola Sánchez

jcanchola@nrdc.org
312-847-6808
Midwestern regional issues

Rita Yelda

ryelda@nrdc.org
212-727-4427
Eastern regional issues

Margie Kelly

mkelly@nrdc.org
541-222-9699
Water, Canada

Kari Birdseye

kbirdseye@nrdc.org
415-875-8243
Oceans, marine mammals, California advocacy and California climate change policy, natural climate solutions

Emily Deanne

edeanne@nrdc.org
202-717-8288
Energy efficiency and decarbonization

Jake Thompson

jthompson@nrdc.org
202-289-2387
Western regional issues

Ivan Moreno

imoreno@nrdc.org
312-651-7932
Environmental justice and Chicago-based environmental issues

Janet Fang

jfang@nrdc-china.org
+86 10 5927 0688
China-based climate, energy and wildlife

Ben Schaefer

bschaefer@NRDC.org 
708-446-1605 
Industrial and emerging energy policy, hydrogen, energy transmission/RTOs

All Press Releases

Viewing 1 - 20 of 54

Gov. Cuomo Blocks Williams Pipeline for Third Time

Press ReleaseNew York
ALBANY, N.Y. – Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) today blocked the Williams Pipeline from moving forward. This decision comes after nearly three years of unrelenting grassroots advocacy in opposition to the fossil…

Court Derails Trump Administration’s Efforts to Take More Water from Bay-Delta

Press ReleaseCalifornia
SACRAMENTO – The Federal Court for the Eastern District of California granted in part a preliminary injunction yesterday against the Trump Administration’s efforts to increase water diversions from California’s Bay-Delta, which threaten endangered species including winter-run Chinook salmon, Delta Smelt…

L.A. City Council Members Aim to Prevent Amazon Deforestation

Press ReleaseCalifornia
LOS ANGELES – Los Angeles City Councilmembers Paul Koretz (5th District) and David Ryu (4th District) presented a motion today to put an end to City purchases of products derived from the deforestation of the Amazon Rainforest. The Councilmembers further…

Trump Rolls Back Endangered Species Act Protections During Trip to California

Press ReleaseCalifornia
SACRAMENTO – During a visit to California today, President Trump moved forward with implementing Endangered Species Act permits (known as biological opinions) that dramatically weaken environmental protections for salmon and other imperiled species in California’s Bay-Delta Watershed. The State of…

New York State Adopts Paint Recycling Program

Press ReleaseNew York
ALBANY, N.Y. – Governor Andrew Cuomo yesterday signed the paint recycling legislation, a bill designed to tackle a long-standing solid waste disposal problem by making it possible for business and residents to recycle leftover paint at hundreds of convenient locations…

Governor Newsom Vetoes Trump Defense Bill

Press ReleaseCalifornia
Sacramento – California Governor Gavin Newsom vetoed Senate Bill 1 the California Environmental, Public Health, and Workers Defense Act of 2019 today, after the bill passed by wide margins in both the State Senate and Assembly.

Trump Administration California Water Letter is Galling

Press ReleaseCalifornia
SAN FRANCISCO – The Trump Administration sent a letter to California Governor Gavin Newsom with claims that California is failing to live up to its Clean Water obligations. The letter comes a week after the Trump Administration threatened to withdraw…

NRDC on WaterFix Announcement: “Successful End of Fight”

Press ReleaseCalifornia
Sacramento, CA– The State of California announced the withdrawal of permits and applications for the California WaterFix Project, the proposal to construct two massive tunnels under the Delta that would cost tens of billions of dollars and divert even more…