Media Center

Featured Press Releases


Media Contacts

To arrange for interviews with or comments from any of our lawyers, scientists, or analysts, please contact one of our press officers. If you are not a member of the press, please write to us at nrdcinfo@nrdc.org, or see our contact us page.

Mark Drajem

mdrajem@nrdc.org
202-289-2436
Adaptation, infrastructure, transportation and vehicles, renewable energy, nuclear power

Anne Hawke

ahawke@nrdc.org
202-329-1463
Offshore drilling, fossil fuels, federal lands, forest and monuments, clean air policy

Jesús Canchola Sánchez

jcanchola@nrdc.org
312-847-6808
Midwestern regional issues

Rita Yelda

ryelda@nrdc.org
212-727-4427
Eastern regional issues

Margie Kelly

mkelly@nrdc.org
541-222-9699
Water, Canada

Kari Birdseye

kbirdseye@nrdc.org
415-875-8243
Oceans, marine mammals, California advocacy and California climate change policy, natural climate solutions

Emily Deanne

edeanne@nrdc.org
202-717-8288
Energy efficiency and decarbonization

Jake Thompson

jthompson@nrdc.org
202-289-2387
Western regional issues

Ivan Moreno

imoreno@nrdc.org
312-651-7932
Environmental justice and Chicago-based environmental issues

Janet Fang

jfang@nrdc-china.org
+86 10 5927 0688
China-based climate, energy and wildlife

Ben Schaefer

bschaefer@NRDC.org 
708-446-1605 
Industrial and emerging energy policy, hydrogen, energy transmission/RTOs

All Press Releases

Viewing 1 - 20 of 397

Orphan Wells Bill Advances One Step Closer to Governor's Desk

Press ReleaseSacramento
California’s senate has approved AB 1167, a bill a by Assemblymember Wendy Carrillo called the Orphan Well Prevention Act, which NRDC and Environment California are sponsoring. The act is designed to intervene before oil wells become “orphaned” without a financially…

Report: California Legislation Can Cut Carbon From Building Materials

Press ReleaseSan Francisco
SAN FRANCISCO – The carbon emissions associated with materials used in the built environment, referred to as “embodied carbon,” are estimated to contribute up to 11% of all global energy-related carbon emissions.1 According to a new report from sustainable development…

Governor Newsom and CA Legislature Agree on Path to Clean, Reliable Energy

Press ReleaseSacramento
Governor Gavin Newsom and the California state legislature have announced an agreement to protect the reliability of California's energy grid amid the state's transition to clean energy. The bill centers the procurement of clean electricity, expedition of electric infrastructure projects, strengthening…

An Urgency to Clean Up Illinois’ Dirty Air

Press ReleaseChicago
As the acrid smell of Canadian wildfire smoke has barely left the nostrils of people in Chicago and Illinois, local leaders and advocates joined forces today to call on Governor Pritzker to enact clean truck rules to reduce harmful pollution.

New York State Passes Flood Risk Disclosure Bill

Press ReleaseNew York
The New York State Legislature voted today in favor of A1967/S5400, a bill which will require sellers to inform home buyers as to whether a property has previously flooded.

California Adopts Regulations to Combat Freight Pollution 

Press ReleaseSacramento
The California Air Resources Board (CARB) took strong action to combat freight pollution by adopting two regulations: the Advanced Clean Fleets Rule and the In-Use Locomotive Rule. These new rules will accelerate the transition towards zero-emission trucks and cut pollution…