Media Center

Featured Press Releases


Media Contacts

To arrange for interviews with or comments from any of our lawyers, scientists, or analysts, please contact one of our press officers. If you are not a member of the press, please write to us at nrdcinfo@nrdc.org, or see our contact us page.

Mark Drajem

mdrajem@nrdc.org
202-289-2436
Adaptation, infrastructure, transportation and vehicles, renewable energy, nuclear power

Anne Hawke

ahawke@nrdc.org
202-329-1463
Offshore drilling, fossil fuels, federal lands, forest and monuments, clean air policy

Jesús Canchola Sánchez

jcanchola@nrdc.org
312-847-6808
Midwestern regional issues

Rita Yelda

ryelda@nrdc.org
212-727-4427
Eastern regional issues

Margie Kelly

mkelly@nrdc.org
541-222-9699
Water, Canada

Kari Birdseye

kbirdseye@nrdc.org
415-875-8243
Oceans, marine mammals, California advocacy and California climate change policy, natural climate solutions

Emily Deanne

edeanne@nrdc.org
202-717-8288
Energy efficiency and decarbonization

Jake Thompson

jthompson@nrdc.org
202-289-2387
Western regional issues

Ivan Moreno

imoreno@nrdc.org
312-651-7932
Environmental justice and Chicago-based environmental issues

Janet Fang

jfang@nrdc-china.org
+86 10 5927 0688
China-based climate, energy and wildlife

Ben Schaefer

bschaefer@NRDC.org 
708-446-1605 
Industrial and emerging energy policy, hydrogen, energy transmission/RTOs

All Press Releases

Viewing 1 - 20 of 93

Governor Newsom and CA Legislature Agree on Path to Clean, Reliable Energy

Press ReleaseSacramento
Governor Gavin Newsom and the California state legislature have announced an agreement to protect the reliability of California's energy grid amid the state's transition to clean energy. The bill centers the procurement of clean electricity, expedition of electric infrastructure projects, strengthening…

Governor Newsom Proposes FY 2022-23 Budget Prioritizing Climate Resilience

Press ReleaseCalifornia
SACRAMENTO – Governor Newsom announced the administration’s proposed budget today, highlighting an ongoing public health and science-based response to the coronavirus pandemic, support for children, families, schools and vulnerable communities, and investments to improve our state’s resiliency in the face…

Governor Newsom Proposes California Comeback Plan

Press ReleaseCalifornia
SACRAMENTO – Governor Gavin Newsom proposed his $100 billion California Comeback Plan today – the biggest economic recovery package in California history. Among other priorities, the proposal allocates financial resources to help consumers struggling with utility debt and address the…

Governor Newsom Declares Drought Emergency in Two California Counties

Press ReleaseCalifornia
SACRAMENTO – California Governor Gavin Newsom today proclaimed a State of Emergency in Sonoma and Mendocino counties as California and much of the West face drought and near-drought conditions that threaten the economy, public health, and ecosystems. The declaration allows…

Groups Recommend Steps for Just Transition Roadmap

Press ReleaseCalifornia
SAN FRANCISCO – A group of community, business, faith, and environmental advocates sent a letter to Governor Newsom’s administration leaders today, providing suggestions for an inclusive public process and five key recommendations for studies concerning the transition away from fossil…

Conservancy Sues Tejon Ranch Company to Enforce Conservation Agreement

Press ReleaseCalifornia
LOS ANGELES – The Tejon Ranch Conservancy (Conservancy) today joined a coalition lawsuit against the Tejon Ranch Company (Company), asking a Kern County Superior Court to find the company in breach of the landmark 2008 Tejon Ranch Conservation and Land…

Governor Newsom Announces Executive Order to Address Biodiversity Crisis

Press ReleaseCalifornia
Sacramento - Governor Gavin Newsom issued an executive order announcing new actions in the fight against climate change and to protect biodiversity. The Executive Order includes a statewide “30 by 30” conservation goal, which was the focus of Assembly bill…