Media Center

Featured Press Releases


Media Contacts

To arrange for interviews with or comments from any of our lawyers, scientists, or analysts, please contact one of our press officers. If you are not a member of the press, please write to us at nrdcinfo@nrdc.org, or see our contact us page.

Mark Drajem

mdrajem@nrdc.org
202-289-2436
Adaptation, infrastructure, transportation and vehicles, renewable energy, nuclear power

Anne Hawke

ahawke@nrdc.org
202-329-1463
Offshore drilling, fossil fuels, federal lands, forest and monuments, clean air policy

Jesús Canchola Sánchez

jcanchola@nrdc.org
312-847-6808
Midwestern regional issues

Rita Yelda

ryelda@nrdc.org
212-727-4427
Eastern regional issues

Margie Kelly

mkelly@nrdc.org
541-222-9699
Water, Canada

Kari Birdseye

kbirdseye@nrdc.org
415-875-8243
Oceans, marine mammals, California advocacy and California climate change policy, natural climate solutions

Emily Deanne

edeanne@nrdc.org
202-717-8288
Energy efficiency and decarbonization

Jake Thompson

jthompson@nrdc.org
202-289-2387
Western regional issues

Ivan Moreno

imoreno@nrdc.org
312-651-7932
Environmental justice and Chicago-based environmental issues

Janet Fang

jfang@nrdc-china.org
+86 10 5927 0688
China-based climate, energy and wildlife

Ben Schaefer

bschaefer@NRDC.org 
708-446-1605 
Industrial and emerging energy policy, hydrogen, energy transmission/RTOs

All Press Releases

Viewing 1 - 20 of 68

EPA Prioritizes Evaluation of the Plastic Compound Vinyl Chloride

Press ReleaseWashington, D.C.
WASHINGTON — The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) announced today it will prioritize the chemicals Vinyl Chloride, Acetaldehyde Acrylonitrile, Benzenamine, and 4,4’-Methylene bis for evaluation and potential regulation under the Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA). 

Court Rules EPA Must Regulate Perchlorate

Press ReleaseUnited States
WASHINGTON – A three-judge panel of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit, today unanimously ruled that the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s (EPA) decision against regulating the toxic chemical perchlorate in drinking water was illegal.

EPA Moves to Cut Toxic Air Pollution from Coal Plants

Press ReleaseWashington, D.C.
WASHINGTON – The Environmental Protection Agency today proposed to strengthen its Mercury and Air Toxics Standards to cut pollution from power plants that burn coal and oil, enhancing air quality and better protecting public health. 

3M Ending PFAS Manufacturing Paves Way for Chemical Market Shift

Press ReleaseUnited States
ST. PAUL, MINN.– Leading chemical manufacturer 3M announced it will exit per- and polyfluoroalkyl substance (PFAS) manufacturing and work to discontinue the use of the “forever chemical” across its product portfolio by the end of 2025. 3M’s decision signals a…

EPA Grants NRDC’s Petition to Remove Neurotoxin in All Pet Flea Collars

Press ReleaseUnited States
NEW YORK – The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) is banning all pet flea collars containing the pesticide tetrachlorvinphos (TCVP), a member of the class of organophosphates that damages the developing brains and nervous systems of young children, toddlers and fetuses…

Judge Approves Multi-Million Dollar Clean-Up for Penobscot River

Press ReleaseMaine
BANGOR, ME — Today, a Federal District Court in Maine approved a settlement that requires Mallinckrodt US LLC to pay for mercury remediation in the Penobscot River Estuary, concluding a more than two decade long legal fight led by Maine…

Court Strikes Down Glyphosate Decision

Press ReleaseUnited States
SAN FRANCISCO – The Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals issued its opinion in a challenge to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s decision to permit widespread, continued use of the herbicide glyphosate.