Media Center

Featured Press Releases


Media Contacts

To arrange for interviews with or comments from any of our lawyers, scientists, or analysts, please contact one of our press officers. If you are not a member of the press, please write to us at nrdcinfo@nrdc.org, or see our contact us page.

Mark Drajem

mdrajem@nrdc.org
202-289-2436
Adaptation, infrastructure, transportation and vehicles, renewable energy, nuclear power

Anne Hawke

ahawke@nrdc.org
202-329-1463
Offshore drilling, fossil fuels, federal lands, forest and monuments, clean air policy

Jesús Canchola Sánchez

jcanchola@nrdc.org
312-847-6808
Midwestern regional issues

Rita Yelda

ryelda@nrdc.org
212-727-4427
Eastern regional issues

Margie Kelly

mkelly@nrdc.org
541-222-9699
Water, Canada

Kari Birdseye

kbirdseye@nrdc.org
415-875-8243
Oceans, marine mammals, California advocacy and California climate change policy, natural climate solutions

Emily Deanne

edeanne@nrdc.org
202-717-8288
Energy efficiency and decarbonization

Jake Thompson

jthompson@nrdc.org
202-289-2387
Western regional issues

Ivan Moreno

imoreno@nrdc.org
312-651-7932
Environmental justice and Chicago-based environmental issues

Janet Fang

jfang@nrdc-china.org
+86 10 5927 0688
China-based climate, energy and wildlife

Ben Schaefer

bschaefer@NRDC.org 
708-446-1605 
Industrial and emerging energy policy, hydrogen, energy transmission/RTOs

All Press Releases

Viewing 1 - 20 of 498

Regulators Move to Reject Proposed LNG Storage Facility in Albuquerque

Press ReleaseNew Mexico
A top hearing examiner today recommended that the New Mexico Public Regulation Commission reject a proposal to build a liquefied natural gas storage facility in northwest Albuquerque on grounds that it is not needed, provides no public benefit, and has…

EPA’s Carbon Standards Are a Powerful Tool

Press ReleaseUnited States
The EPA’s standards to curb carbon emissions from power plants are crucial to addressing climate change. Strong and comprehensive rules are needed to address this major source of carbon pollution.

NRDC to Congress: The Pause on New LNG Export Permits is Commonsense Move

Press ReleaseWashington, D.C.
WASHINGTON – The Biden administration’s recent pause on Department of Energy approvals of new LNG export permits is a sensible update, NRDC will testify before the House Energy and Commerce Committee Subcommittee on Energy, Climate and Grid Security, in a hearing convening today. The…

US Announces Over $1 Billion for Global Methane Reduction

Press ReleaseInternational
U.S. Special Presidential Envoy for Climate John Kerry announced today that the United States, the European Union, and other entities have mobilized over $1 billion in new grant funding for methane action. The grants are focused on lower income countries…

United States Makes Major Coal Announcement at COP28

Press ReleaseInternational
DUBAI (December 2, 2023)—The United States announced that it would be joining the Powering Past Coal Alliance (PPCA) at COP28 today, committing to a moratorium on new unabated coal plants and to phasing out existing unabated coal power generation.

NRDC Digital Tool Tracks Political Opposition to Offshore Drilling

Press ReleaseWashington, D.C.
WASHINGTON – NRDC (Natural Resources Defense Council) is launching an updated digital tool today to help people track where their Members of Congress stand on offshore oil and gas drilling. The Biden administration is expected to release a final five-year plan for federal…

Orphan Wells Bill Advances One Step Closer to Governor's Desk

Press ReleaseSacramento
California’s senate has approved AB 1167, a bill a by Assemblymember Wendy Carrillo called the Orphan Well Prevention Act, which NRDC and Environment California are sponsoring. The act is designed to intervene before oil wells become “orphaned” without a financially…