What's At Stake

Keep our coasts permanently off-limits to oil and gas drilling.

In 2016, President Obama permanently ended oil and gas leasing in parts of the Atlantic and Arctic oceans. The move, long advocated for by NRDC, was hailed as a legacy-making decision. But President Trump’s April 2017 executive order attempts to illegally roll back these protections, and in January 2018, in response to Trump's order, U.S. Department of the Interior Secretary Ryan Zinke took the first step to tear up the Obama administration’s five-year oil and gas leasing program plan, proposing to open up nearly all federal waters to destructive and dangerous oil and gas extraction—from the most pristine areas of the Arctic to the economically important southeastern coast.

stat

75%

Chance of a major oil spill when drilling in just one lease area in the Arctic

Days after Trump’s executive order, NRDC made its own announcement: We’re suing. Together with our partners, NRDC’s lawyers are challenging Trump’s illegal executive order for the sake of our oceans, coastal communities, and a clean energy future.

The Arctic environment is harsh enough to almost guarantee more disasters and irreparable damage to ecosystems. In the Atlantic and Pacific, one spill could mean billions in lost fishing and tourism revenue. In California, investments in marine protection and clean energy have bolstered the state's $25 million tourism and recreation economy that employs nearly half a million residents. And the Atlantic coast is heavily dependent on tourism and recreation, which are simply incompatible with offshore drilling and the risk it brings. The Gulf of Mexico is still recovering from the devastating 2010 BP oil disaster. Oil and gas exploration tactics like seismic blasting are already known to injure and kill whales and other marine life. Not only that, digging up dirty fossil fuels locks us into decades of carbon pollution and is a giant step back in the fight against climate change. Investing in offshore drilling is not only destructive—it’s nonsense. 

You Can Help

Tell Congress to stop Trump's dirty, dangerous offshore drilling plan

Bureau of Ocean Energy Management Public Meeting Schedule & Lead Organizations »

February 5 - Tacoma, Washington, 3–7 PM

Tacoma’s Landmark Catering and Convention Center
47 St. Helens Ave., Tacoma, WA 98402
Lead: Brice Boland (Surfrider Foundation), bboland@surfrider.org
Event details »

February 6 - Austin, Texas, 3–7 PM

Embassy Suites by Hilton
5901 North IH-35, Austin, TX 78723
Lead: Luke Metzger (Environment Texas), luke.metzger@publicinterestnetwork.org
Event details »

February 6 - Salem, Oregon, 3–7 PM

Red Lion Hotel Salem
3301 Market Street NE, Salem, OR 97301
Lead: Bri Goodwin (Surfrider Foundation), bgoodwin@surfrider.org, 541-655-0236
Event details »

February 8 - Tallahassee, Florida, 3–7 PM

Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown
316 West Tennessee Street, Tallahassee, FL 32301
Lead: Holly Parker (Surfrider Foundation), 850-567-3393, hparker@surfrider.org
Erin Handy (Oceana) ehandy@oceana.org
Event details »

February 8 - Sacramento, California, 3–7 PM

Tsakopoulos Library Galleria
828 I Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Lead: Blake Kopcho (Center for Biological Diversity) 805-708-3435, bkopcho@biologicaldiversity.org
Event details »

February 13 - Hartford, Connecticut, 3–7 PM

Hartford Marriott Downtown
200 Columbus Blvd., Hartford, CT 06103
Lead: Melissa Gates (Surfrider Foundation), mgates@surfrider.org, 207-706-6378
Event details »

February 13 - Columbia, South Carolina, 3–7 PM

Doubletree by Hilton
2100 Bush River Road, Columbia, SC 29210
Lead: Sam Siegel (Oceana), SSiegel@oceana.org

February 14 - Trenton, New Jersey, 3–7 PM

Hilton Garden Inn, Hamilton
800 US Highway 130, Hamilton, NJ 08690
Lead: Cindy Zipf (Clean Ocean Action) Events@CleanOceanAction.org, 732-872-0111
Jeff Tittle, Sierra Club New Jersey Chapter Director, jeff.tittel@sierraclub.org, 609-558-9100
Event details »

February 15 - Albany, New York, 3–7 PM

Hilton Albany
40 Lodge Street, Albany, NY 12207
Lead: Brian Langloss (Oceana), blangloss@oceana.org

February 22 - Washington, D.C., 3–7 PM

Hilton Garden Inn
1225 First Street NE, Washington, DC 20002
Lead: Leah/Noa Alaska Wilderness League, leah@alaskawild.org; noa@alaskawild.org

February 26 - Raleigh, North Carolina, 3–7 PM

Hilton North Raleigh/Midtown
3415 Wake Forest Road, Raleigh, NC 27609
Lead: Randy Sturgil (Oceana), rsturgil@oceana.org

February 28 - Atlanta, Georgia, 3–7 PM

Renaissance Concourse Atlanta Airport Hotel
One Hartsfield Centre Parkway, Atlanta, GA 30354
Lead: Jennette Gayer (Environment Georgia), jennette@environmentgeorgia.org

Support This Work

Help protect our coasts and oceans from catastrophic oil and gas drilling.

Learn More

Reporting, expert commentary, analysis, and more.

stat

250K

Number of jobs across Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Georgia that depend on the Atlantic Ocean

stat

10s

Frequency of air gun blasts that will rock the water—and harm marine life—during oil and gas exploration

Join Us

Join our fight to protect our coasts and oceans from the oil and gas industry.

How would an oil spill on our coasts and oceans affect you?

Join Us

When you sign up you'll become a member of NRDC's Activist Network. We will keep you informed with the latest alerts and progress reports.